About Us | Feedback | Ask the Statistician | Advertise on Howstat | Compare Players
Home Page

Match Lists & Scorecards
Series Lists
All Rounders
Wicket Keeping
World Cup
World Series Cricket
Upcoming Milestones
Recent Records
World XI (Test)
World XI (ODI)
Top Ten (Test)
Top Ten (ODI)
Search HowSTAT
HowSTAT Quiz
Links (Cricket Sites)
Cricket Games
 2016 Indian Premier League Overview
With the increasing popularity of the T20 cricket, which was introduced in 2003 and knowing how popular this sport is in India it is hardly surprising that the Indian Premier League, officially called Vivo Indian Premier League is the most popular cricket competitions in the country. In fact, it may be even the most popular team cricket competition in the world and one of the most popular competitions in India in total. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are the organisers of this league and they introduced it in 2008. Vivo Electronics are the main sponsor of IPL, hence the official name.
One of the most popular T20 Competitions
An amazing $2.2bln is the estimated value of the IPL brand name. The last season competition, 2015, contributed over $7m to the GDP of the Indian economy. The TV rights which were bought in advance for a period of 10 years by an Indian-Singaporean consortium cost over $1bln. The IPL is broadcasted all over the world, including the UK, Malaysia, Pakistan, Canada, USA and Bangladesh. Being initially founded as a rivalling league to the Indian Cricket League which was considered a rebel league by the BCCI, the IPL eventually caused the dissolution of the Indian Cricket League and remained the single most popular T20 competition in the country.
Format and Teams in the 2016 Season IPL
The matches of the IPL are played in April and May every year and 2016 wouldn't be any different. Right now the IPL features 8 teams and the teams play each other home and away. At the end of the league stage the leading four teams qualify for the knockout stage. There the first team from the league stage plays the second one and the winner goes right to the final. The loser plays against the winner of the match between the third and the fourth team. Then this winner meets the winner from the match between the first and the second team in the final.
Out of the 8 teams the will be playing in the current 2016 seasons, 6 have already competed in the IPL, and two are newcomers. Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Night Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians have played before, whereas Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants are the newly accepted teams. Mumbai Indians are the current champions and that title of 2015 was their second. Kolkata Knight Riders also have won the IPL twice. As you can see, the name of either the city or the state where the team is based is featured in the full name of the club.
Players and the 2016 Auction
There are five ways in which teams can acquire new players. The annual auction is probably the most popular event for the fans, but the teams can also trade players, sign replacements, sign uncapped players and sign domestic players. The rules state that there can't be more than 10 foreign players per team and not more than 4 foreigners in the 11 players that are on the field. Each team has to have at least 16 players and at least 14 Indian players. The salary cap is set at $5m, whereas young players has to be paid at least $20,000 per year. The winners of the 2015 league, Mumbai Indians received $2.2 million. Regulations oblige the teams to distribute half of the money the won to their players.
When it comes to salaries, some of the top players in the IPL receive pay cheques that exceed $1 million per year. For example, the annual salary of Gautam Gambhir of Kolkata Knight Riders is set at $1.5 million. He is also the team captain. Suresh Raina, the captain of Gujarat Lions earns $1.8 million, whereas the all-rounder of the same team- Ravindra Jadeja earns $1.4 million.
Fans of cricket know how thrilling this game can be, they bet a fortune on sites like Paddy Power, Coral and Bet Victor. Though for games of a casino variety they will head here,
The annual auction for 2016 was held on the 6th of February 2016 in Bengaluru. It featured 351 players, out of which 94 were sold. 66 of them were domestic players, whereas 28 were foreign. The most expensive player was the Australian all-rounder Shane Watson who was sold to the Royal Challengers Bangalore for almost $1.4million, whereas Pawan Negi, an Indian all-rounder, was bought by Delhi Daredevils for a bit more than $1.2million. The Daredevils paid a million for another all-rounder- Christopher Morris. The last player whose price reached a sum of $1million was also an all-rounder- Yuvraj Singh who was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad. The rest of the players were both at lower prices.